Hanging Jail: DeRidder, Louisiana

The DeRidder jail became known as the "hanging jail" after two murderers were hung there in 1928 for the robbery and murder of a taxi cab driver.

DeRidder, Louisiana is a small city of 9,000 (according to the 2000 census) but is known for its hanging jail. The jail is now 97 years old having been built in 1914.

The double hanging took place on March 9, 1928 some 83 years ago, when  Joe Genna and Molton Brasseaux hung for robbing and murdering 45 year old J.J. Brevelle, a taxi driver.

The jail was closed in 1984 which is 27 years ago, but it still is drawing interest from paranormal groups.

LA Spirits is a paranormal group that explored the facility. After setting up their equipment they said they heard footsteps, heard a shower running and could smell pipe smoke.

There is a website that give many details about the jail, the crime which caused the two murderers to be hanged and how they were apprehended.

This website also features a video taken inside the jail and the webmaster is to be commended for their research.

http://itsphotography.wordpress.com/

Author: Andrew Godfrey

Retired from newspaper work after 38 years. Had served in the Army in Hawaii and Vietnam in the 60's. Am now retired and living in Sulphur, Louisiana.

2 thoughts on “Hanging Jail: DeRidder, Louisiana”

  1. I am the grand daughter of Harvey Perkins. He was suppose to be hung with the two gentlemen that killed the taxi driver . To my knowledge only a day or so before the hanging the two men said he had nothing to do with the killings. Harvey went on to marry Pauline Doyle and they had 13 kids. I just want to say I’m thankful for the two mens confessions or I wouldn’t be here today. I actually googled my grandfathers name a few months ago and found this out. I questioned my dad (harveys son) and he told me bits and pieces of what he knew. Just found this very interesting .

    1. Thank you Tammy for sharing your story relating how the confessions of the other two resulted in you being alive to write your comment.

      My wife is from Deridder and we live about 10 miles from there. Matter of fact my wife pointed out the old courthouse a week ago,when we were in Deridder.

Leave a comment