RSS

MP3 Players Popularity Waning

04 Nov

Creative Nomad Jukebox Zen Xtra 40 GB MP3 Player.

 

It was 2004, when I bought my first powerful MP3 player. It was a Creative Nomad Jukebox Zen Xtra 40 GB MP3 player that held 10,000 songs. It was much clunkier, than the lighter MP3 players of today.

Have never had a smart phone and don’t have any kind of cell phone today. I would rather use my MP3 players for music, than a cell phone. I doubt that they can hold much music, since smart phones also have cameras to take photos and some phones are capable of taking video.

The best thing about the Creative Nomad MP3 player is that it is used exclusively to play music and in my case, also able to play back old-time radio shows of the past. I even have a 1934 baseball game, between the Yankees and Tigers in the player.

That player no longer works, but may only need a new battery, which when I last checked was about $12. Best thing is that it has a removable battery, unlike most MP3 players, which have built-in batteries.

Another feature is that I could delete radio shows, after listening them from the player itself and not have to remove them using a computer.

Sony NWZ 545 16 GB MP3 Player.

 

The above photo is of my next MP3 player bought about four years ago. It is a Sony NWZ 545 16 GB player that can hold far less music, than the Creative Nomad Jukebox could hold. Unlike the Creative player, I have to be careful to pick and choose what songs to download to it, since it would fill up much faster.

It too lets me listen to old-time radio shows. I usually download a few shows at a time. Then I have to go to the computer to delete shows, that I have already heard.

The best thing about the MP3 players is that they don’t have to have a wi-fi connection to play the music. We have made a lot of trips to VA hospitals in Alexandria, LA and Houston, TX and listening to old-time radio shows and music make the long trips a little more bearable.

Apple iPod Nano 8 GB 6th Generation

 

While recuperating at home from cancer surgery my sister from Colorado sent me a gift of a Apple iPod Nano, which only weighs a pound  and is 5×5 inches. The earphones that come with the Nano have a great sound and you really can hear the stereo affect from the song being played.

My sister also sent a speaker that doesn’t come with the Nano. It is not a huge speaker, but it pumps out a lot of sound, without being overly loud.

Not Much Mention of MP3 Players

I have noticed that you don’t hear much mention of MP3 players online. If you go to the tech section of an online sight there will be little or no mention of MP3 players. Most of the articles are about the latest cell phones coming out.

Apple has had two huge events announcing new products, but no mention was made of new iPods being released in the near future.

Personally, I hope there will be a market for MP3 players for years to come. Not everyone wants a MP3 player in their cell phone. I like MP3 players better as standalone products, rather than incorporating them into other electronic devices.

Another thing I have noticed is that most of the MP3 players being released today are 8 GB and 16 GB players, while the players with 32 GB and 64 GB are less common, than they were in the past.

The Apple iPod Classic 160 GB

 

The Apple iPod Classic 160 GB player is the Cadillac of MP3 players, for those who like to record a lot of music. The player has the capacity to store 40,000 songs, 25,000 photos and 200 hours of video.

The player has 1,133 five-star reviews at amazon.com, while only 141 reviewers give it a one star rating. A selling point for the player is that the battery can play for up to 36 hours.

Most users of the Classic will be hard pressed to fill up this player with 40,000 songs, which is equivalent to having 4,000 albums with 10 songs each. Of course the capacity depends on how many photos and videos are downloaded into the Classic.

There are rumors that the Classic may be discontinued in the near future. I think it should remain in production, for those fans who could store only a fraction of 40,000 songs in a cell phone.

We could see the popularity of MP3 players continue to decrease in 2014. The fact that MP3 players are seldom even being mentioned today tells me, that someday they could become another extinct electronic device that disappears from the landscape like reel to reel tape players and eight track players. Very few new cassette players are being made today, except with phonographs and we should have vinyl records for a long time, since we have seen a resurgence in their popularity.

 

 

6 responses to “MP3 Players Popularity Waning

  1. Wesley Butler

    November 4, 2013 at 1:57 PM

    I believe the reason the popularity of the once prominent mp3 player is dwindling is because of the smart phone. Anyone can download music onto their phones, along with accessing the Internet, texting, calling, etc. Sadly, it’s rendering the concept of mp3 players useless.

     
    • Andrew Godfrey

      November 4, 2013 at 2:02 PM

      Wesley, I agree with you 100 percent. Cell phones have replaced cameras, video cameras, MP3 players and some even have a GPS and I haven’t even mentioned that it is also a phone.

       
      • Wesley Butler

        November 4, 2013 at 2:03 PM

        That’s true! But the thing is, just because a mobile device is capable of performing several different tasks, doesn’t necessarily mean that that’s good. Sometimes it’s best to stick with a good old-fashioned GPS system. 🙂

         
  2. Andrew Godfrey

    November 4, 2013 at 2:10 PM

    You got that right. If the cameras, video cameras and MP3 players and GPS are inferior to standalone devices, then it is best to buy a good standalone device.

     
  3. P. Stocks

    November 4, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    I have used many mp-3 players in the past. I currently have a smartphone where I store recent music I want to listen to and a external hard drive where I store all of my music. Though this works and gives me access to more music than I ever dreamed possible, I still would prefer an old fashioned turn table with a great receiver and speakers. The music that I used to listen to like that seemed much more alive than what we get on the mp-3’s. The old quality vs. quantity argument plus mp-3’s are obviously more portable.

     
    • Andrew Godfrey

      November 4, 2013 at 2:38 PM

      I remember when you had a 60 GB Creative MP3 player and I thought that was the ultimate in storage and now they have MP3 players with 160 GB of storage. I too like hearing records on a phonograph, even though our phonograph is bottom of the line and only cost $45. It does have a MP3 plugin, so can listen to music with it, in addition to listening to the few vinyl record albums that I own. The portability you mentioned is a major plus for MP3 players.

       

Leave a Reply

 
