American Idol: Hollie Cavanagh Next To Go Home?

With the departure of DeAndre Brackensick on last week’s show, it appears that Hollie Cavanagh may be leaving American Idol next Thursday night.

Unless she can recover from the scathing criticism from the judges last week, she seems to be close to going home. On the other hand though she was the first one of bottom three to be sent to safety, so Elise Testone may also be in jeopardy.

Jessica Sanchez, Skylar Laine, Joshua Ledet, Phillip Phillips and Colton Dixon seem like they will be in the Top 5 right now, but you never know how the voting will go from one week to the next.

Poll Looking For Worst Singer

Votefortheworst.com is in the process of choosing another worst singer after DeAndre went home. After 7,103 voters their poll shows that 2,234 voters with 31 percent of the vote think Hollie should be the next singer to have the dubious honor of being supported by votefortheworst.com.

Elise Testone is second worst according to the poll with 1,406 votes, while garnering 20 percent of the vote. Sklyar Laine is next with 890 votes and 13 percent of the votes.

Phillips One Trick Pony

Phillip Phillips makes the Top 4 with 838 votes and 12 percent of the votes.Phillips may be a talented singer and musician but he seems to be a one trick pony, that seems to be playing the same song week after week. His comment about not liking to touch the hands of the fans crowding the stage, probably won’t help him in next week’s voting. Joshua Ledet with 795 votes and 11 percent of the vote is next.

Colton Dixon only drew 675 votes and 10 percent of the vote, showing he is a strong candidate to win American Idol. Jessica Sanchez continues to be the favorite to win, with only 265 voters in the poll thinking it is time for her to go home and only 4 percent of the voters thinking she is the worst singer.

Votefortheworst.com

2010-2012 Songs Theme for Next Week

Older American Idol fans like me won’t enjoy next week’s show much, with the contestants singing songs from 2010-2012, since there won’t be any recognizable songs, except for fans who are attuned to the music scene today.

My personal favorite is still Joshua Ledet, but have a feeling his fan base is not that strong, since he lives in a smaller city. He is in a position where he has to knock it out of the park week after week, to even make the Top 3.

Skylar Back On Track

Skylar Laine stepped up her game last week, with her stirring rendition of Wind Beneath My Wings. Laine still might be better off to focus on her country music background, to sing a country music tune next week. Country music fans are more likely to vote for her, if she sings a country music song.

Colton Dixon is making his move to be a serious contender for the American Idol title in 2012. It is amazing that Jessica Sanchez at the age of 16 has done so well so far this season. She would have to stumble badly to not win American Idol this year, but with American Idol everything can change with a good or bad week.

The judges are now more likely to use their save, now they are down to their last weeks of being able to use their save. Everyone knew they weren’t going to use their save on Heejun Han or DeAndre Brackensick, in the last two weeks but they still may not use it on Hollie Cavanagh next week, They might not even use it till they have to use it or lose it.

Results Show Lowest Rated in 2012

The ratings for American Idol tumbled to 14.34 million, the lowest total for any of the 25 shows, that have been telecast in 2012. In contrast, last year only one show drew less than 20 million viewers. Only the 2012 premiere show drew more than 20 million viewers this year.

It seems to me that the reality singing competition star has died. Shows like American Idol, The Voice and X-Factor may still draw well in comparison, to the scripted shows going against them, but we may never see 20 million fans tune into another singing competition show, except for maybe a finale night.

Author: Andrew Godfrey

Retired from newspaper work after 38 years. Had served in the Army in Hawaii and Vietnam in the 60's. Am now retired and living in Sulphur, Louisiana.

4 thoughts on “American Idol: Hollie Cavanagh Next To Go Home?”

  1. I love your comments about this show!

    My two cents: My favorites are Joshua and Jessica. Not only are they talented, but very sweet and humble kids. I loved when they sang together.

    I do not like Phil Phillips at all. I’d like him to leave next.

    And, I agree, I may not watch next week … I don’t like much popular music from 2010 to 2012, unless it’s Amy Winehouse or Lady Gaga.

    1. I agree about Phil Phillips needing to go home. He more or less dissed his fans by saying he wasn’t interested in shaking hands with them, while he was singing. Joshua and Jessica after Hollie goes home. I like Hollie since she couldn’t even make the top 24 last year and now she is in the top 7. I have zero interest in the 2010-2012 music.

      1. Yes, that was very arrogant of Phil Phillips to say that. The fans put you at the top and performers should always be grateful to them. I remember when I was a little girl and I’d watch Tony Orlando on television with my grandma. Tony would always go to the audience and kiss the old people on their heads. That was so precious!

        I think Phil Phillips may have a bit of an issue performing — because he always seems to hide behind his guitar. And now with him saying he doesn’t want to shake hands, maybe it’s just too hard for him and he loses concentration … just a thought, but that is not something you’d want to admit if it was true!

        Holly is a little cutie pie! I love all the girls. None of them irk me like Hailey did last year.

      2. To tell you the truth I was shocked that Phillip Phillips more or less said he didn’t want to have anything to do with his fans. I am tired of him holding his guitar and singing songs. He is a little too smug for my liking. We need more Tony Orlandos who fought a weight problem to become a top performer and appreciated his fans.

        Guess it would be hard to shake hands and play his guitar, but I haven’t heard him sing a song, that I would even consider buying. I might buy an Elise Testone album or Joshua Ledet album. My No.1 favorite is Joshual since he lives about 5 miles from here in Louisiana.

        Have to admit Haley was my favorite girl last year. I guess mainly because she sings some of the songs from the 40’s and 50’s when I was growing up. I really liked her duet with Tony Bennett, but I don’t expect everyone to like her like I do. I was sort of disappointed in her first single…didn’t do anything for me, but maybe the rest of the album is better.

        Hollie is my favorite girl this year. Felt bad for her when she was crying after not making the Top 24 last year, but feel the judges don’t like her, so she doesn’t have much chance of winning.

Leave a Reply

