Favorite Southern Gospel Song: The Lighthouse

Kenny Hinson and the Hinsons sing The Lighthouse in a concert before his death.

There have been many great southern gospel songs written and sung in the history of southern gospel music but the song that is my personal favorite is The Lighthouse sung by the Hinsons.

This song is southern gospel music at its best and when the rest of the Hinsons join in with Kenny for the chorus it gets even better. Then the crowd joins in at the end to sing the chorus.

Author: Andrew Godfrey

Retired from newspaper work after 38 years. Had served in the Army in Hawaii and Vietnam in the 60's. Am now retired and living in Sulphur, Louisiana.

10 thoughts on “Favorite Southern Gospel Song: The Lighthouse”

  1. THIS IS ANNOINTED SINGERS . I GET A BLEESING EVERY TIME I HEARD THE HINSONS . i REMEMBER ONE EVENING AT WORK IN A NURSING HOME IN tEXAS WHEN I HEAR ABOUT KENNY’S DEATH . ITS WAS SO HARD TO FINISHED MY SHIFT M I LOVE TO HEAR THE hINSON SINGERS .

    1. so did i and love their original one more hallula mine got broken when i moved and i sure wish someone who knew about kenny and his family and the one that sings the lighthouse.my name is susan

  2. Brother Kenny is singing with the Heavenly choir. never no more pain or suffering. He has crossed that bridge. Is Ronnie his brother living. thanks may god blee everyone watching this spirited fill singing. rev. lorraine ward.

  3. thanks for the information. We all miss bro. Kenny down here but thank God he suffered no more . he is singing in the Heavenly choir. one day we will see him again and many more who went on like sister goodman and others. thanks again may god richly bless every one.

  4. What about Debbie Hinson, Kenny’s wife? What became of her after Kenny’s death? I know their son went on to sing, and he’s very talented…sounds so very much like his father. But what about Kenny’s daughter? What became of her? If anyone can give me info. about them I’d appreciate it. I guess I’m particularly interested in the women because I feel I can kind of relate…I was a teen when my own father died, and I know how painful that can be. Thank you for whatever information you can give. God bless.

    1. Saw Debbie Hinson at the Ryman Reunion program by Bill Gaither. It showed her in the audience while someone else sang The Lighthouse. Not sure about the daughter. Anyone is welcome to give that information to Jackie.

Leave a Reply

