Bobby Vinton: Christmas Eve In My Hometown

Bobby Vinton singing Christmas Eve In My Hometown one of my favorite Christmas songs but it has not had the recognition it deserves in my opinion. Kate Smith recorded the song  back in the 50’s and sang it on Hollywood Palace with Bing Crosby introducing her many years ago.

Kate Smith who was most famous for singing God Bless America sings Christmas Eve In My Hometown.

This song along with I’ll Be Home For Christmas conjure up thoughts of Christmases past during the 50’s and 60’s.


Author: Andrew Godfrey

Retired from newspaper work after 38 years. Had served in the Army in Hawaii and Vietnam in the 60's. Am now retired and living in Sulphur, Louisiana.

4 thoughts on “Bobby Vinton: Christmas Eve In My Hometown”

  1. I love the songs and also Bobby Vinton. He is one of the nicest guys around. His whole family works with him..tickets book keeping etc. Bethany play with him sometimes. There is only one Kate Smith. No one comes close to her on her famous recordings She is so recognizable without hearing her name.

  2. I loved Bobby Vinton songs like Blue Velvet, Roses Are Red and Tell Me Why and too many others to mention. I had the feeling he was a nice guy and your comments verify it.

    That has to be impressive to anyone that Bethany played violin for his group.

    Sad that Kate Smith had to deal with diabetes.

Leave a Reply

