Bette Midler: Wind Beneath My Wings

Bette Middler sings Wind Beneath My Wings in 2008.

Wind Beneath My Wings was written by Jeff Silbar and Larry Henley in 1982 and when they submitted it to Bob Montgomery their publisher he changed it from an mid-tempo song to a ballad which made it the hit it would become.

The Gary Morris version would win the CMA Song of the Year award and the song would win Song of the Year award at the Grammys for Bette Midler’s version.

The song has been covered by close to 200 artists and to me it is one of the best written songs ever both lyrically and musically.

Gary Morris singing his version of  Wind Beneath My Wings which went to No.4 on country charts.

One of my friends sang Wind Beneath My Wings at his wife’s funeral.

There have been a lot of great songs written in the past and will be written in the future but this song will go down as one of the best songs ever.


Leave a Reply

