Christmas Traditions

When we growing up I always liked to watch the Christmas tree lights blinking on and off and we played a game in which someone would say they were looking at something on the tree and everyone else would try to guess what it was.

Natchitoches Christmas Festival is held early in December.

The Natchitoches Christmas Festival is an annual highlight for Cenla residents who embark on the trip to Natchitoches to see the Christmas lights, parade and fireworks early in December each year.

The little white church, Christmas, 1949

I can remember this miniature church displayed on City Hall square for many years and it was reportedly lost but was found a few years later and has taken again its prominent place as people can look inside the church and see the miniature pews and it revives memories of seeing it for so many years during my childhood.

Bishop Greco

 

I can still remember listening to Bishop Charles P. Greco on Christmas Eve on KALB radio and remember his telling of the Christmas story during his fireside chats.

 

 

 

I remember the Christmas parades in Alexandria, Pineville and Ball over the years. I remember one in particular when my mom was talking to her friend who was a reserve sheriff’s deputy and he left to direct traffic and he directed a car from a side street to enter Jackson Street Extension and that car hit a motorcyle policeman who was waiting for the start of the parade and the policeman was catapulted into the air by the collision and suffered serious injuries.

 

Other Christmas Memories

I remember the Christmas lights strung across the streets in downtown Alexandria and Pineville….I remember Santa Claus being in several different stores at the same time. Still haven’t figured that one out.

Another Christmas memory is Ethma Odum reading The Christmas Angel story each Christmas and the KALB Santa Claus reading letters from kids telling him what they wanted for Christmas.

The mall always had some stores that had displays that included mechanized characters moving around in Christmas scenes.

While working at Town Talk could hear the Christmas music emanating from downtown Alexandria….I have never tired of hearing the traditional Christmas music played during the Christmas season.

Some of my favorites are O Holy Night, White Christmas, Blue Christmas, Please Come Home for Christmas, I’ll Be Home For Christmas (this song made me homesick during my three Christmases in Hawaii), The Christmas Song, Jingle Bell Rock, Christmas in my Hometown and I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day and too many others to list them all.

It may be only December 1st but still I would like to wish everyone reading this article a very Merry Christmas.

 

 

 

Author: Andrew Godfrey

Retired from newspaper work after 38 years. Had served in the Army in Hawaii and Vietnam in the 60's. Am now retired and living in Sulphur, Louisiana.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions”

  1. I played that game myself and still try with my children. Not the same with as many distractions that are around these days.

    1. That is very true…way too many distractions. Back then we had no MP3 players, no CD players, no cell phones, no microwaves, no TV till I was 9 years old, no air conditioning until I was 21 and no computers till I was 50.

Leave a Reply

