Jimmy Elledge Visited Sunday School Class

Jimmy Elledge who recorded Ain't It Funny How Time Slips Away once visited our Sunday School class at College Drive Baptist Church in Pineville, Louisiana.Jimmy Elledge: RCA Victor recording star

There was a man in our church named Jim Stretch in the 1960’s. He was an RCA records distributor. He had discovered a singer named Jimmy Elledge and brought him to our church one Sunday morning and Elledge visited our Sunday School class at College Drive Baptist Church in Pineville, Louisiana.

I didn’t know till later that he would have a million selling record of Ain’t It Funny How Time Slips Away that went to #22 on the Billboard Hot 100 record chart.

Chet Atkins who had heard a demo tape by Elledge apparently notified Stretch and Elledge was signed to an RCA Victor recording contract.

He would never have another hit but he can say he had a million selling hit which is more than most of us  wannabe singers can say.

Jimmy Elledge singing the original of Ain’t It Funny How Time Slips Away

13 thoughts on “Jimmy Elledge Visited Sunday School Class

  1. Hi Andrew –

    This is the first time I’ve seen your post on Jimmy Elledge. Thanks for noting that my Dad was his personal manager back then. College Drive Church seems like a long time ago. Hope all’s well.

    Drop me a line sometime.

    Jerry Stretch

  2. Jerry and Andrew. They are mixing Jimmy (Slim) Elledge with another Jimmy Elledge. Your Jimmy Elledge is still alive and doing well. There is another Jimmy Elledge that just passed away last June this year. This person is posting all over the web that Slim passed away and putting his songs and Bio with this younger Jimmy. I am Slims personal caregiver. This is realy upsetting me. This younger Jimmy is getting all of Slims fame and glory. This person posted on Willie Nelsons web page telling us readers that Jimmy Elledge passed away at the age of 69. Well this so unfair to Slim. I sent an e-mail to Willies people and am trying to find all other web sites this person is visiting. His voice is somewhat like Slims, I guess from some of the songs he has recorded. But they are mixing songs recorded on Slims 45’s with this other Jimmy. I don’t know what to do. If they are selling Slims songs, doesn’t he deserve the fees of sells ? I don’t know all of the legal ends and outs. But if there is money be made off of Slims music, isn’t he entitled? He still talks of the good old days. He sings from time to time while I’m in his home. He talks of all the singers he sung with and Lefty. He cries when he speeks of Lefty. Thanks for your time.

  3. I don’t mean to be disrespetful in the passing of anyone. I’m so sorry you lost him. But 2 people can’t have the same story, nor the same voice. I do know that Slim lived in Tx. Did promotions. Lives in Oklahoma City, OK. Sang with Conway, Lefty Frizzell, Kitty Wells,Little Jimmy Dickens. I am confused. I know his family talks of his success. I know he and lefty were best friends. I dont want to casue any trouble. But how does 2 men share the same story and voice?

  4. I only know what I read online, so can only report what I read. I have never known JImmy Elledge to be called Slim. This is the first time I have heard of another Jimmy Elledge.

  5. Red and Andrew –

    I’m sure this is confusing to all of us and possibly many others. My Dad, Jimmie Stretch, was the personal manager for the Jimmy Elledge that had the recording contract for RCA Victor Records. I accompanied then to Nashville, Tennesee for the recording session for “Funny How Time Slips Away” that was produced by Chet Atkins.

    Jimmy actually lived in our home for about 2 years or so, I believe. I don’t recall anyone ever calling Jimmy “Slim”.

    Jerry Stretch

  6. Additional note: The Jimmy Elledge I’m referring to is pictured on the album cover at the top of this page.

    Jerry

  7. Jerry..Did your father attend La College in Pineville, LA. I heard him sing there on some event and was not sure if he was a student or just visiting..thanks John G

Leave a Reply

