RSS

Daily Archives: September 22, 2009

Growing Up With Model Trains

One of the larger model train setups which is one of the most elaborate I have ever seen and wished I had one like this.

One of the larger model train setups which is one of the most elaborate I have ever seen and wished I had one like this.

My father set up a Lionel model train track on top of  the bed back in the 1950’s. It was fun watching the train rolling around the tracks and never have tired of seeing model trains run.

A model train layout with at least two trains running at once. This layout is located at Smoky Mountain Trains in Bryson City, North Carolina.

Model train setup in Germany.

Model trains running to the music of  City of New Orleans sung by Willie Nelson.

A Christmas train running to the music of the season.

We lived in a house from 1947 to 1952 that had a railroad track running next to our house with only a ditch between our house and the trains. We would wave to the man in the caboose as the train rolled by.

I retained my interest in trains later in life when I drove to Lecompte, Louisiana to see an old locomotive that was parked off the main track. I took photos of the locomotive while I was there.

Railroads have played a major part in the growth of the United States and are still transporting goods across the country to their destinations.

Passenger trains for the most part don’t run to smaller cities today. My last train ride was in January of 1963 when I boarded a train enroute to Indianapolis, Indiana.

I will never forget the snow falling once we reached St. Louis and even more snow was on the ground when we arrived in Indianapolis.

This post is dedicated to train lovers everywhere who enjoy seeing a model train run and riding in a full size train.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2009 in Trains

 
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers

