RSS

Doris Day: Celebrates 89th Birthday

06 Apr

Doris Day celebrated her 89th birthday earlier this week.

Doris Mary Ann Von Kapplehoff was born on April 3, 1922. She is better known to her fans as Doris Day.

She hasn’t been seen on television except as a guest or in the movies since the Doris Day Show ended in 1973. For the last 38 years she has lived a low profile life.

When her third husband, Martin Melcher died in 1968, she claimed to not know he had planned a television series the Doris Day Show before his death.

She did the series and it was successful, which was the last time she appeared on television in a regular series of her own.

Her fear of flying probably was a huge factor in retiring, since she probably wouldn’t have consented to fly to movie or television locations.

She never liked anyone swearing around her and once required anyone that swore to place a quarter in the “swear box’ during a recording session.

Day surprisingly believes a couple should live together before being married as she stated in her 1975 autobiography:

[In her 1975 autobiography] You don’t really know a person until you live with him, not just sleep with him. Sex is not enough to sustain marriage. I have the unfortunate reputation of being Miss Goody Two-shoes, America’s Virgin, and all that, so I’m afraid it’s going to shock some people for me to say this, but I staunchly believe no two people should get married until they have lived together. The young people have it right. What a tragedy it is for a couple to get married, have a child, and in the process discover they are not suited for one another! If I had lived with Al Jorden for a few weeks, God knows I would never have married him. Nor would I have married George Weidler. But I was too young and too inexperienced to understand any of this. Now my heart was busted and I had lost my way.

She didn’t think much of Elizabeth Taylor’s penchant for wearing expensive jewelry saying it could have been better used:

[about Elizabeth Taylor‘s diamonds] When I see Liz Taylor with those Harry Winston boulders hanging from her neck I get nauseated. Not figuratively, but nauseated! All I can think of are how many dog shelters those diamonds could buy.


 

Tags:

4 responses to “Doris Day: Celebrates 89th Birthday

  1. lovelyshadesofnostalgia

    April 6, 2011 at 6:04 PM

    Love Doris Day! Those movies with Rock Hudson are so silly and fun.

     
    • Andrew Godfrey

      April 6, 2011 at 6:19 PM

      I will always remember her movies with Rock Hudson too. I also liked her TV series.

       
  2. Gail D. Breeden

    March 5, 2013 at 2:31 PM

    I love Doris Day she is a very sweet person & I really love her songs & movies to & if I could talk to her I would thank her for being the great singer & for all of her movies she made. Love gail

     
    • Andrew Godfrey

      March 5, 2013 at 5:43 PM

      Gail, Doris Day is one of my favorite singers and actresses ever. I have a CD with many of her songs from the past. Watched her TV show regularly, while it was on the air.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers

